EHLfamily: 2010, a new Director

EHL Alumni | 21 Nov, 2016

Before becoming CEO of EHL Group, Michel Rochat was the General Director of Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne, a position which he held since 2010, back when EHL was home to 1700 students.

AEHL-2010-Director_Rochat.jpgFrom Left to right Ruud J Reuland, Marco Torriani, Michel Rochat (2010)

Since its foundation in 1893, EHL has had many directors coming from different backgrounds.

While the school's founder was Mr. Jacques Tschumi, the first director was Mr. Henri Briod, head from 1893 to 1904. 15 other directors followed – or more precisely 20, since in 1904, 1924 and 1939 the school was managed by couples and from 1972 to 1975 by a team of three: Mr. Paul Barraud, Mr. Jacques Schweizer and Mr. Peter Barakat .

An EHL director appointment averaged 7,5 years. The shortest time was for one year in 1943, Mr. Cottier, when the school reopened after the Second World War. The record is held by Mr. & Mrs. Bertsch who managed EHL during 14 years.


Mr. & Mrs. Bertsch and their class ( 1924-1938), in front of the famous "picture" tree, still visible at Avenue de Cour. 

Discover the full list of EHL General Directors (in chronological order):

Mr. Henri Briod, M. & Mrs. Adolphe Raach, Mr. J.U Blumenthal, Mr. & Mrs. Erwin Bertsch, Mr. & Mrs. Hermann Monney, Mr. Fernand Cottier, Mr. George Duttweiler, Mr. Oscar Schweizer, Mr. Seigfried Weissenberger, Mr. Eric Gerber, Mr. Paul Barraud, Mr. Jacques Schweizer, Mr. Peter Barakat, Mr. Jean Chevallaz, Mr. Jean-Louis Aeschlimann, Mr. Maurice Zuffrey, Mr. Ruud Reuland, Mr. Michel Rochat.

 Read this article in French

New Call-to-action
New Call-to-action